Diese Website existiert nur weil wir Werbung mit AdSense ausliefern.
Bitte den AdBlocker daher auf dieser Website ausschalten! Danke.

[solved] Tv-Karte TechniSat-MediaFocus

Alles rund um das Thema Multimedia unter Linux

Moderator: Moderatoren

Antworten
elcarotino
Newbie
Newbie
Beiträge: 13
Registriert: 24. Mai 2005, 22:10
Kontaktdaten:

[solved] Tv-Karte TechniSat-MediaFocus

Beitrag von elcarotino »

Hallo,

hab eine TechniSat-MediaFocus Tv-Karte mit dem Zoran zr36120 chip. Den Treiber dafür hab ich installiert. adr (AstraDigitalRadio) läuft, ich kann nach sendern scannen und eben auch radio hören.
Mit xawtv hab ich nur ein kleines bild..fullscreen geht nicht...sendersuchlauf auch nicht möglich.
Wenn ich kdetv in der konsole starte, kommt folgendes:

Code: Alles auswählen

 
ALSA lib control.c:739:(snd_ctl_open_noupdate) Invalid CTL
kdetv: WARNING: Device does not support streaming interface or is not a V4L2 device.
kdetv: WARNING: Device does not support streaming interface or is not a V4L2 device.
kdetvv4lsetup: using X11 display :0.0
dga: version 2.0
mode: 1152x864, depth=24, bpp=32, bpl=5120, base=0xd0000000
seteuid(root): Operation not permitted
kdetv: WARNING: v4ldev: kdetvv4lsetup had some trouble. Trying to continue anyway.
kdetv: WARNING: v4ldev: V4L and KVIDEOIO disagree about the depth of the display. Is kdetvv4lsetup installed suid root? Overlay disabled.
kdetv: WARNING: (I think it should be 32, v4l says: 16)
Creating vbi proxy client, rev.
$Id: proxy-client.c,v 1.9 2005/01/20 20:56:11 mschimek Exp $
proxy_msg: connect: error 2, Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
kdetv: WARNING: VBIDecoder: vbi_capture_proxy_new error: Verbindung ??ber Socket fehlgeschlagen, Server l??uft nicht.
Try to open V4L2 0.20 VBI device, libzvbi interface rev.
  $Id: io-v4l2.c,v 1.31 2004/12/30 02:24:11 mschimek Exp $
Opened /dev/vbi
Try to open V4L2 2.6 VBI device, libzvbi interface rev.
  $Id: io-v4l2k.c,v 1.27 2005/01/20 01:40:14 mschimek Exp $
Opened /dev/vbi
v4l2k_new: failed with errno=22, msg='Kann Gerät '/dev/vbi' nicht identifizieren: 22, Das Argument ist ungültig.' guess='Wahrscheinlich kein V4L2 Gerät.'
kdetv: WARNING: VBIDecoder: vbi_capture_v4l2_new error: Kann Ger??t '/dev/vbi' nicht identifizieren: 22, Das Argument ist ung??ltig.
Try to open v4l vbi device, libzvbi interface rev.
  $Id: io-v4l.c,v 1.28 2004/12/30 02:23:59 mschimek Exp $
Opened /dev/vbi
Driver name 'zr36120 vbi'
Attempt to guess the videostandard
Driver doesn't support VIDIOCGTUNER or VIDIOCGCHAN
Attempt to find a reverse VIDIOCGUNIT
VBI device type verified
Try /dev/video: Matched
Driver supports VIDIOCGTUNER: mode 3 (0=PAL, 1=NTSC, 2=SECAM)
/dev/vbi (zr36120 vbi) is a v4l vbi device
Hinted video standard 0, guessed 0
Driver supports VIDIOCGVBIFMT, guessed videostandard 625
VBI capture parameters supported: format 0000000c, 14750000 Hz, 862 bpl, F1 0+38, F2 312+38, flags 00000002
VBI capture parameters granted: format 0000000c, 14750000 Hz, 862 bpl, F1 0+38, F2 312+38, flags 00000002
Accept current vbi parameters
Nyquist check passed
Request decoding of services 0x60000c7f, strict level -1
Will capture services 0x0000041f, added 0x41f commit:1
Capture buffer allocated: 65512 bytes
Guessed videostandard 625
Warning: no read select, reading will block
Successful opened /dev/vbi (zr36120 vbi)
kdetv: WARNING: MainWindow::setupInfraRed(): Lirc not available
kdetvv4lsetup: using X11 display :0.0
dga: version 2.0
mode: 1152x864, depth=24, bpp=32, bpl=5120, base=0xd0000000
seteuid(root): Operation not permitted
kdetv: WARNING: v4ldev: kdetvv4lsetup had some trouble. Trying to continue anyway.
kdetv: WARNING: v4ldev: V4L and KVIDEOIO disagree about the depth of the display. Is kdetvv4lsetup installed suid root? Overlay disabled.
kdetv: WARNING: (I think it should be 32, v4l says: 16)
kdetvv4lsetup: using X11 display :0.0
dga: version 2.0
mode: 1152x864, depth=24, bpp=32, bpl=5120, base=0xd0000000
seteuid(root): Operation not permitted
kdetv: WARNING: v4ldev: kdetvv4lsetup had some trouble. Trying to continue anyway.
kdetv: WARNING: v4ldev: V4L and KVIDEOIO disagree about the depth of the display. Is kdetvv4lsetup installed suid root? Overlay disabled.
kdetv: WARNING: (I think it should be 32, v4l says: 16)
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
kdetv: WARNING: ... failed. kdetv likely does not to work with your device and/or your current filter config.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
kdetv: WARNING: VolumeController::doSetVolume: AudioManager failed, trying SourceManager
kdetv: WARNING: VolumeController::doSetVolume: AudioManager failed, trying SourceManager
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed.
v4ldev: VIDIOCSYNC failed too.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed.
v4ldev: VIDIOCSYNC failed too.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed.
v4ldev: VIDIOCSYNC failed too.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed.
v4ldev: VIDIOCSYNC failed too.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed.
v4ldev: VIDIOCSYNC failed too.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed.
v4ldev: VIDIOCSYNC failed too.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed.
v4ldev: VIDIOCSYNC failed too.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed.
v4ldev: VIDIOCSYNC failed too.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed.
v4ldev: VIDIOCSYNC failed too.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed.
v4ldev: VIDIOCSYNC failed too.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed.
v4ldev: VIDIOCSYNC failed too.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed.
v4ldev: VIDIOCSYNC failed too.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed.
v4ldev: VIDIOCSYNC failed too.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed.
v4ldev: VIDIOCSYNC failed too.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed.
v4ldev: VIDIOCSYNC failed too.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed.
v4ldev: VIDIOCSYNC failed too.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed.
v4ldev: VIDIOCSYNC failed too.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed.
v4ldev: VIDIOCSYNC failed too.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed.
v4ldev: VIDIOCSYNC failed too.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed.
v4ldev: VIDIOCSYNC failed too.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed. Format may not be supported by grabber.
v4ldev: VIDIOCMCAPTURE failed.
v4ldev: VIDIOCSYNC failed too.
Too many errors.  Ending V4L grabbing.
QDateTime::fromString: Parameter out of range

danach passiert mit dem programm nix mehr...
Weiss jemand, was ich machen kann?
Benutzeravatar
Geier0815
Guru
Guru
Beiträge: 4473
Registriert: 14. Jun 2004, 09:12

Beitrag von Geier0815 »

Moin elcarotino,

ich mag mich ja täuschen, aber deine Karte ist digital und die von dir getesteten Programme sind auf analoge Karten ausgerichtet.
Wenn Windows die Lösung ist...
kann ich dann bitte das Problem zurück haben?
elcarotino
Newbie
Newbie
Beiträge: 13
Registriert: 24. Mai 2005, 22:10
Kontaktdaten:

Beitrag von elcarotino »

Hi Geier0815,

leider täuscht du dich wirklich...lediglich adr ist digital...ist aber nur der sound (radio)
tv-karte ist analog...

wie kann ich denn im yast zb. einstellungen bezüglich des treibers machen.
oder wie muss ich den kernel 2.6.11.4-21.8-default bearbeiten (patchen), sodass der treiber geladen wird, oder ist es was ganz anderes?

thx ;)
elcarotino
Benutzeravatar
TomcatMJ
Guru
Guru
Beiträge: 2484
Registriert: 1. Apr 2004, 00:29
Wohnort: Köln
Kontaktdaten:

Beitrag von TomcatMJ »

Hi!
elcarotino hat geschrieben:Hi Geier0815,

leider täuscht du dich wirklich...lediglich adr ist digital...ist aber nur der sound (radio)
tv-karte ist analog...
Ähm,Analog-SAT etwa?Wenn ja,wo gibts die noch,ich such mir schon seit einiger Zeit 'nen Wolf nach sowas weil unsere Hausanlage hier nur analog fährt...hab stattdessen nur diverse Analog TV-Karten für Kabel+terrestrisch an nem SAT-Recveiver probiert was aber eher aufgrund der Leitungslänge dann wohl zu minder guten Bildern führte. Die Bildsynchronisation lief dann selten mit den im PAL_standard veranschlagten 50Hz Bildwiederholfrequenz sondern eher mit 39-45 was wohl knapp unter der Grenze für brauchbare Bilder zu sein schien (starke Verzerrungen ab und zu halt)...lag aber sicherlich an den 8 m extrem geschirmten Videokabel was per Cinch verbunden war....Addition von Fehlerquellen vermutlich.
Wenn du also noch 'ne Quelle für diese Karte hast(Soferns eine Analoge SAT-Karte ist) wärs nett mir den Tipp weiterzureichen (könnte im Austausch gegen so eine Karte ja z.B. ne alte WinTV PCI oder LeadTek WinFast 2000 XP oder beide zusammen bieten*G*)....

Bis denne,
Tom
Benutzeravatar
Geier0815
Guru
Guru
Beiträge: 4473
Registriert: 14. Jun 2004, 09:12

Beitrag von Geier0815 »

Driver for Trust Computer Products Framegrabber, version 0.6.1
------ --- ----- -------- -------- ------------ ------- - - -

- ZORAN ------------------------------------------------------
Author: Pauline Middelink <middelin@polyware.nl>
Date: 18 September 1999
Version: 0.6.1

- Description ------------------------------------------------

Video4Linux compatible driver for an unknown brand framegrabber
(Sold in the Netherlands by TRUST Computer Products) and various
other zoran zr36120 based framegrabbers.

The card contains a ZR36120 Multimedia PCI Interface and a Philips
SAA7110 Onechip Frontend videodecoder. There is also an DSP of
which I have forgotten the number, since i will never get that thing
to work without specs from the vendor itself.

The SAA711x are capable of processing 6 different video inputs,
CVBS1..6 and Y1+C1, Y2+C2, Y3+C3. All in 50/60Hz, NTSC, PAL or
SECAM and delivering a YUV datastream. On my card the input
'CVBS-0' corresponds to channel CVBS2 and 'S-Video' to Y2+C2.

I have some reports of other cards working with the mentioned
chip sets. For a list of other working cards please have a look
at the cards named in the tvcards struct in the beginning of
zr36120.c

After some testing, I discovered that the carddesigner messed up
on the I2C interface. The Zoran chip includes 2 lines SDA and SCL
which (s)he connected reversely. So we have to clock on the SDA
and r/w data on the SCL pin. Life is fun... Each cardtype now has
a bit which signifies if you have a card with the same deficiency.

Oh, for the completeness of this story I must mention that my
card delivers the VSYNC pulse of the SAA chip to GIRQ1, not
GIRQ0 as some other cards have. This is also incorporated in
the driver be clearing/setting the 'useirq1' bit in the tvcard
description.

Another problems of continuous capturing data with a Zoran chip
is something nasty inside the chip. It effectively halves the
fps we ought to get... Here is the scenario: capturing frames
to memory is done in the so-called snapshot mode. In this mode
the Zoran stops after capturing a frame worth of data and wait
till the application set GRAB bit to indicate readiness for the
next frame. After detecting a set bit, the chip neatly waits
till the start of a frame, captures it and it goes back to off.
Smart ppl will notice the problem here. Its the waiting on the
_next_ frame each time we set the GRAB bit... Oh well, 12,5 fps
is still plenty fast for me.
-- update 28/7/1999 --
Don't believe a word I just said... Proof is the output
of `streamer -t 300 -r 25 -f avi15 -o /dev/null`
++--+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-s+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+- 25/25
+-s+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-s+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+- 25/25
+-s+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-s+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+- 25/25
+-s+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-s+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+- 25/25
+-s+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-s+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+- 25/25
+-s+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-s+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+- 25/25
+-s+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-s+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+- 25/25
+-s+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-s+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+- 25/25
+-s+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-s+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+- 25/25
+-s+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-s+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+- 25/25
+-s+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-s+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+- 25/25
+-s+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-s+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-
syncer: done
writer: done
(note the /dev/null is prudent here, my system is not able to
grab /and/ write 25 fps to a file... gifts welcome :) )
The technical reasoning follows: The zoran completed the last
frame, the VSYNC goes low, and GRAB is cleared. The interrupt
routine starts to work since its VSYNC driven, and again
activates the GRAB bit. A few ms later the VSYNC (re-)rises and
the zoran starts to work on a new and freshly broadcasted frame....

For pointers I used the specs of both chips. Below are the URLs:
http://www.zoran.com/ftp/download/devic ... 20data.pdf
http://www-us.semiconductor.philips.com ... 10_A_1.pdf

The documentation has very little on absolute numbers or timings
needed for the various modes/resolutions, but there are other
programs you can borrow those from.

------ Install --------------------------------------------
Read the file called TODO. Note its long list of limitations.

Build a kernel with VIDEO4LINUX enabled. Activate the
BT848 driver; we need this because we have need for the
other modules (i2c and videodev) it enables.

To install this software, extract it into a suitable directory.
Examine the makefile and change anything you don't like. Type "make".

After making the modules check if you have the much needed
/dev/video devices. If not, execute the following 4 lines:
mknod /dev/video c 81 0
mknod /dev/video1 c 81 1
mknod /dev/video2 c 81 2
mknod /dev/video3 c 81 3
mknod /dev/video4 c 81 4

After making/checking the devices do:
modprobe i2c
modprobe videodev
modprobe saa7110 (optional)
modprobe saa7111 (optional)
modprobe tuner (optional)
insmod zoran cardtype=<n>

<n> is the cardtype of the card you have. The cardnumber can
be found in the source of zr36120. Look for tvcards. If your
card is not there, please try if any other card gives some
response, and mail me if you got a working tvcard addition.

PS. <TVCard editors behold!)
Dont forget to set video_input to the number of inputs
you defined in the video_mux part of the tvcard definition.
Its a common error to add a channel but not incrementing
video_input and getting angry with me/v4l/linux/linus :(

You are now ready to test the framegrabber with your favorite
video4linux compatible tool

------ Application ----------------------------------------

This device works with all Video4Linux compatible applications,
given the limitations in the TODO file.

------ API ------------------------------------------------

This uses the V4L interface as of kernel release 2.1.116, and in
fact has not been tested on any lower version. There are a couple
of minor differences due to the fact that the amount of data returned
with each frame varies, and no doubt there are discrepancies due to my
misunderstanding of the API. I intend to convert this driver to the
new V4L2 API when it has stabilized more.

------ Current state --------------------------------------

The driver is capable of overlaying a video image in screen, and
even capable of grabbing frames. It uses the BIGPHYSAREA patch
to allocate lots of large memory blocks when tis patch is
found in the kernel, but it doesn't need it.
The consequence is that, when loading the driver as a module,
the module may tell you it's out of memory, but 'free' says
otherwise. The reason is simple; the modules wants its memory
contiguous, not fragmented, and after a long uptime there
probably isn't a fragment of memory large enough...

The driver uses a double buffering scheme, which should really
be an n-way buffer, depending on the size of allocated framebuffer
and the requested grab-size/format.
This current version also fixes a dead-lock situation during irq
time, which really, really froze my system... :)

Good luck.
Pauline
Entstammt der Kerneldoku zu video4linux. Sieht also so aus als wenn Du bei dem Teil wohl mit Problemen leben mußt.
Wenn Windows die Lösung ist...
kann ich dann bitte das Problem zurück haben?
elcarotino
Newbie
Newbie
Beiträge: 13
Registriert: 24. Mai 2005, 22:10
Kontaktdaten:

[gelöst]Tv-Karte TechniSat-MediaFocus

Beitrag von elcarotino »

Moin Leutz ;)

Radio hört sich toll an und fernsehen kann ich nun auch endlich ganz gut ... ;)

Zur Lösung:

Der Freund, welcher mir die analoge SAT-Karte zur Verfügung gestellt hat, meinte:"Das liegt bestimmt an der der LOF vom LNB" (sprich: Lokale Oszillator Frequenz) Diese "verschiebt" alle Frequenzen um einen bestimmten Wert...(keine genaueren Erläuterungen...)
Das hatte zur Folge, dass ich die Frequenzen von meinem Receiver abgetippt hab und sie dann in die frequenztabelle übertragen und für xawtv neu gepatcht.
xawtv gestartet, helligkeit,kontrast,farbe,etc. justiert und siehe da, ich kann toll fernsehen ;) ... auch fullscreen, aber da muss ich halt einmal umschalten, damit ich wieder vernünftiges tv-bild habe....

@TomcatMJ:

sorry, aber diese Karte bleibt bis auf weiteres in meiner Kiste...
Leider hab ich keine weitere Quelle :( Hab auch nur die eine bekommen...

Vielen Dank für eure Tipps....
wir hatten stellenweise nur knoten in den synapsen O_o

PS: schaut euch doch mal www.dynebolic.org an... sehr geil ;)
n schlankes linux für ältere kisten ab p1 200mhz, gut für mediafreaks (vj-,dj-tools,tv,streaming,etc.)läuft auch auf xbox...
it's rastasoft ... may the source be with you ;)

elcarotino
;)
Benutzeravatar
TomcatMJ
Guru
Guru
Beiträge: 2484
Registriert: 1. Apr 2004, 00:29
Wohnort: Köln
Kontaktdaten:

Beitrag von TomcatMJ »

Macht nix elcarotino, habe mir gestern eine günstig bei Ihh-Bäh-ih (Lautschrift für eBay bevor hier wer motzt*G*) geschossen *G*
Den tipp wegen den manuellen Frequenzeinträgen werd ich mir dann wohl am besten mal merken falls es nicht auf Anhieb klappen sollte ;)

Bis denne,
Tom
Antworten